Roy Tang

roytang.net

Programmer, engineer, scientist, critic, gamer, dreamer, and kid-at-heart.

Blog Notes Photos Links Archives About

Subscribe: RSS JSON

2020 January

  • Posted by under blog at #books #review

    Also on: twitter / 👍 1 326 words

2019 December

  • Watching Lately: December 2019

    Been watching a lot of things this December. I finally got back on The Expanse after finishing S1 more than a year ago. I only finished S2, but it was already a vast improvement over S1. S1 felt like a lot of meandering around until the characters actually ran into the plot. S2 was stronger, faster-paced, and there's always a lot of things going on in each episode. I really like this series now, looking forward to S3 and S4 when I have the time. Netflix-wise, I enjoyed their recently-added Jeopardy series (always a great show to have playing in

    read more (720 words)

2019 November

  • Aha! I finally managed to finish a book again! I've heard of Cal Newport since years ago tangentially due to his Study Hacks blog, which was pretty good at the time. I haven't followed his career too closely, but he's an academic at Georgetown apparently. I wasn't looking for any career advice in particular, but I did have a recommendation for this book from somewhere so I thought I'd give it a go. The book is So Good They Can't Ignore You, and focuses on what it takes to have a "successful career". My favorite thing about this book is

    read more (638 words)

    Posted by under blog at #books #review

    Also on: twitter / 638 words

2019 March

  • Watching Lately: March 2019

    The big one this month was Captain Marvel. I posted the usual spoiler-free review over on Tumblr, but I have some more spoiler-y thoughts over here: (Spoilers) While I thought the movie was ok, I was underwhelmed by the third act and specifically the lack of any serious threat for Carol to defeat towards the end of the movie. As this tumblr post explains more clearly than I ever could, perhaps the issue is that the narrative is not something targetted towards me as a man, who has not experienced the emotional gaslighting IRL that many women are exposed to.

    read more (419 words)

2019 February

  • Watching Lately: February 2019

    Some things I've been watching lately, aside from the usual TV shows I follow: I watched Alita: Battle Angel, with the friend who introduced me to the series in the first place. The movie looked fantastic and the fight scenes were great. Plot was supercondensed, several books' worth of story combined into one. Ended in a weird place, kinda? Easily the best western live action anime adaptation by far. On Feb. 7, 2019, 10:06 p.m. I wrote: Watched Alita: Battle Angel earlier today. Pretty good. Fast pace, excellent visuals and fight scenes. They tried to cram a lot of the

    read more (502 words)

2019 January

  • Watching Lately: January 2019

    Some things I've been watching lately, aside from the usual TV shows I follow: Bumblebee only came out over here in January (thanks to the usual MMFF shenanigans), and I decided to watch it on a whim. Pretty decent soft reboot, read my spoiler-free review over on the Tumblr The first half of Young Justice Outsiders is out, and it's pretty good. Focus is back on a smaller group after the larger team in YJ season 2. A few new characters are introduced and I learned about a couple of DC heroes I wasn't familiar with before. Probably still the

    read more (255 words)

2018 December

  • Watching Lately: December 2018

    Some things I've been watching lately, aside from the usual TV shows I follow: I very much enjoyed Elseworlds, the Arrowverse crossover this year. I mean sure, a lot of it didn't make any sense, but it was like a love letter to DC fans. I actually consider myself more of a Marvel fan than DC, but I still loved it! I wrote a spoiler-free review over on the Tumblr. I found Better Call Saul on a couple of "Best TV of 2018" lists so I decided to catch up with it since it was on Netflix. I was actually

    read more (524 words)

2018 November

  • Watching Lately: November 2018

    Some things I've been watching lately, aside from the usual TV shows I follow: For some reason, I watched two biopics this month. The first one is Hidden Figures, about three black women who were instrumental during the early days of NASA leading up to the Friendship 7 mission piloted by John Glenn. The movie is fairly interesting if you are even remotely interested in either the challenges faced in black history or math and science or the early days of the space program competition between the USA and Russia. It feels even more appropriate to have watched this since

    read more (475 words)

  • Posted by under blog at #review #ccgs #gaming

    Also on: twitter / 2222 words

  • Posted by under blog at #comics #review #gaming

    Also on: twitter / 1268 words

2018 October

  • Watching Lately: October 2018

    Some things I've been watching lately, aside from the usual TV shows I follow: Tom Clancy's Jack Ryan (on Amazon Prime) -- surprisingly good, even if I'm not too familiar with the Jack Ryan stuff. I only know John Krasinski from The Office, Spoilers for Tom Clancy's Jack Ryan: (Spoilers) The story starts with Ryan tracking down Suleiman's network via financials, but they never follow-up on who was financing his group I'm not sure what was the point of the whole drone pilot side story (including the weird trip to the casino and the night with the couple), although it

    read more (305 words)

  • Posted by under blog at #movies #review #pop-culture

    Also on: tumblr twitter / 1950 words

  • I realise it's a bit weird for me to be reviewing a marketing book, given my self-proclaimed aversion to marketing and sales. A while back I wrote a review for Tim Ferris' book Tribe of Mentors on this blog, and for some reason someone decided to contact me citing this review and asked if I would review this other book and they would give me a complimentary copy. This was something new to me, so I thought I'd try it out! (I guess this a thing I do know. Feel free to send me books on random topics to review!)

    read more (342 words)

    Posted by under blog at #books #review #pop-culture

    Also on: tumblr twitter / 342 words

2017 June

  • Posted by under blog at #review #gaming

    Also on: tumblr twitter / 623 words

2017 May

  • Review: Guardians of the Galaxy Vol 2

    First, the spoiler-free summary (spoilers after this part): overall a very entertaining movie to sit down and watch popcorn and to enjoy the jokes and the space battles and the different colored lights and the tiny adorable tree creature GOTG's humor was one of its strong points and for the 2nd movie, they push the comedy up a notch, perhaps a little too much in some places. Lots of funny gags and one-liners I felt like some of the character/background development stuff was pushed a bit too hard as well the movie's plot also felt a bit thin and straightforward.

    read more (439 words)

2017 March

  • Review: Final Fantasy XV

    With The FFXIII trilogy not being particularly well-received and FFXIV being an MMO, Final Fantasy XV has been a long awaited as the next mainline single-player game in the much-acclaimed series. This review will have minor spoilers. src="http://i.imgur.com/mxS7hvb.png" width="1920" height="1080" /> Story FFXV follows the story of Noctis, prince of Lucis and his band of brothers (okay they're not really brothers, but they might as well be). They're supposed to be on a road trip to get Noctis married, but things happen along the way and eventually they have to figure out how to liberate their homeland from The Evil

    read more (1560 words)

    Posted by under blog at #review #gaming

    Also on: tumblr twitter / 1560 words

  • Sony 4K HDR Bravia X8000D

    4k XLocal tech blog YugaTech is doing a giveaway of a Sony X8000D Bravia 4K TV. To be honest I wasn't sure about using this blog to participate in a promo, but I was already in the market for a new TV since our living room TV is already starting to have some problems. I checked out the product features of the Sony X8000D Bravia on their website. Some of the features stood out for me specifically: 4K HDR -- this means you get to watch high definition 4k videos. Perfect for those who really enjoy high quality displays. The

    read more (455 words)